strawberry sage jam


Tonight my creative juices were flowing after trying a blueberry mint jam inspired by Blue Chair Fruit Company’s new cookbook.  I had some strawberries in my refrigerator and started looking through the rest of the contents of my fridge looking for something to pair with them. Having spotted some sage, and remembering my first post in my “favorite herbs” series, I thought…”hmm…I wonder if that will work?”  Only one way to find out!

strawberry sage jam

I set off whipping up a batch of strawberry jam with my usual recipe.  Once the jam was cooked I steeped some fresh sage leaves in the jam for a about 2 minutes.  I did not want an overwhelming sage presence, just a lovely “sagey” note in the background.

Needless to say, I loved it!  The earthy sage paired beautifully with the sweet strawberries.  I can’t wait to use it for a fabulous PB&J sandwich.

If you try out this combination drop me a line and let me know!  Or, if you have any suggestions for new jam combinations pass it along and I’ll give it a whirl.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Trials & Tribulations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to strawberry sage jam

  1. Bee says:

    Great combo idea. Thanks for the inspiration

Leave a Reply

