roast chicken tacos with guacamole


I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I’ve been down with the flu the last few days.  I’m finally starting to feel a bit better and thought I should sit down and get to some posting.

So, in my last post I mentioned that we used the leftover chicken from the roast chicken that I made last Saturday to make American-style chicken tacos.  I promised I would cover that in another post–so here it goes!!

After eating the yummy roast chicken we had a breast and the two leg-thigh sections leftover.  I took the chilled chicken and shredded it by hand into bite-sized pieces.

pulled chicken

In a fry pan I sweated some onion with olive oil and then added the chicken with a mexican blend of spices.  Of course the chicken is already cooked, so this was more about heating up the cooked chicken without overcooking it and adding additional flavors to the party.

sautéed onion

prepared chicken

I also made a guacamole to go with the tacos.  Now, the version we make is almost like a cross between guacamole and pico de gallo because the ratio of pico de gallo ingredients is higher than normally found in guacamole.  It is delicious and we often prefer it to just pico de gallo, or guacamole alone.  It is super easy to make.  You dice tomatoes, onions, and jalapeno and mix them together with salt and lime juice.  The ratios and amounts of the onion and jalapeno will depend upon your tolerance and liking of either one.  I happen to love onion and love spicy food, so I use an almost equal amount of onion to tomato and about 4 good sized jalapenos (not de-seeded because I like the heat, but you can de-seed if you prefer).  I also like a good amount of lime juice, so I used about 1 1/2 limes.

tomato and onion

limes

After the diced ingredients are mixed with salt and lime juice, taste the mixture to make sure it is to your liking, then add chopped cilantro and diced avocado.  The number of avocados to use will vary depending on how big they are, and how much avocado you want.  This time I used about 4 large avocados.  Mix to combine, and voila!

cilantro

diced avocado

all mixed

Now that the chicken is done and the guacamole is ready, heat your corn shells (we used store bought hard shell tacos since we were making American-style tacos) in the oven for about 4 minutes, add your chicken, some of the guacamole, a little shredded cheese, and your favorite hot sauce (Tapatio is king in our house).  That’s it! An easy, second meal form leftover roast chicken.

American-style chicken tacos

Enjoy!

Guacamole on FoodistaGuacamole

This entry was posted in Recipes, Trials & Tribulations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to roast chicken tacos with guacamole

  1. This looks lovely and I bet it taste good too:D

  2. Alisa says:

    This looks like a wonderful combination!I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.if you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget at the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

